Back to top
Go to bottom

**** WE'RE OPEN ****



***** Come and check us out *****


The club has been redecorated and looks good.

The photos don't do it justice so come and criticise in person!


Opening Times:
Fri 1800 - 2300hrs
Sat 2000 - 2300
Sun 1300 - 1800




Covid-19 Rule Change

Amendment to Adderbury Bowls Club Covid-19 Rules.
As a result of Supplementary Guidance from Bowls England dated 2nd June 2020, a rink can now be used for doubles play, with four players on one rink observing social distancing with one another. There will be a limit of eight players in total using the green at any time which will be regulated by the Booking Coordinator.

Letter from ABC President

Dear Adderbury Bowls Club Member, 

Following the limited lifting of restrictions on outdoor sports facilities announced by the Government last week, the Bowls Club Committee has agreed that we can now reopen the green but subject to very stringent conditions of use. We understand that other clubs in the area are about to reopen in a similar manner. 

We have formulated some Club Rules which closely follow the guidance of a Bowls England document, issued on 14th May, and it is essential that everyone reads these rules and the Bowls England guidance document which are attached. A rink can only be used either by one individual for practice or two people playing a singles game provided they socially distance themselves from each other during play (unless they are members of the same household). 

Please note that members bowl at their own risk and Adderbury Bowls Club cannot accept any liability. 

Rinks will only be available to paid up bowling members of the club (2020 subs paid) who agree to adhere to the club rules. Bookings to be made in advance for fixed time slots by phone to Mick Jelfs 07903 955047, see the club rules for full details. Those over 70 or clinically vulnerable are advised to look at the Bowls England guidance. 

The green still needs some preparation and we are in the process of obtaining signage to emphasise the need for social distancing and sanitising hands and equipment but we hope to be open for bookings within a week and possibly by the coming bank holiday Monday, so please look at our website for confirmation and any further announcements. 

We recognise that these rules for using the green will seem heavy and very restrictive but we trust that all our members will now be accustomed to social distancing at supermarkets etc, and will fully understand the need to be very careful about conducting any activities outside our own homes to protect us from contracting the Covid-19 virus. 

Nevertheless, happy bowling to those of you who can resume play! 

Mick Jelfs
President of Adderbury Bowls Club 

14th May 2020: Covid-19 – Supplementary Guidance for Lawn Bowls Clubs





On 13th May 2020 the Government announced that some outdoor sports facilities, including lawn bowls may now reopen and on 14th May 2020 Bowls England issued their Supplementary Guidance for Lawn Bowls Clubs which was approved by the Department of Culture, Media and Sport. Adderbury Bowls Club have therefore decided to reopen the green but subject to the following strict rules which closely follow the Bowls England Guidance. The rules will enable members to book and use a rink during a designated time slot for individual practice or to play a singles game with one other current full bowling member of the club. These rules are stringent, and rightly so, because they aim to ensure that we observe the 2 metre social distancing rule and wash or sanitise hands and equipment to avoid any cross contamination with the Covid-19 virus. Members bowl at their own risk and the Club cannot accept any liability. 

Booking procedure 

Up to three rinks will be available so that they can be spaced out on the green. Time slots of one and a half hours will be available most days at the following times:-
2.00pm to 3.30pm. 4.00pm to 5.30pm. 6.00pm to 7.30pm. This will allow half hour intervals between play to allow players to leave without coming in contact with players arriving for the next session. 

Rinks have to be booked off-site by phoning a booking coordinator rather than using a booking sheet at the green; initially this will be Mick Jelfs tel 07903 955047. Only current full bowling members of the club will be permitted to use the green and spectators are not allowed until further notice. 

Arrangements at the green 

Only the car park and the green will be available, the clubhouse, toilets, changing rooms and equipment stores will all remain closed until further notice. Mats and jacks will be left outside by the clubhouse. Soap, the outside tap by the mower shed and sanitiser products will be available for hand and equipment sanitising. Arrive ready dressed for bowling no more than 10 minutes before your session. There will be signs at the green to remind members of the rules, and tapes 2 metres apart on some of the paving to remind players of correct social distancing. 

During play, extra rules to observe 

Sanitise jack and mat before and after use. When two individuals are playing use 2 jacks and 2 mats, only one of the two players is to touch the mats and jacks, agree who that is to be; jack to be set rather than bowled. No other ancillary equipment (other than a personally used bowls lifter) to be used so bring pencil and card to score. No contact with opponent’s bowls, so no chalking or measuring.We emphasise that social distancing must be observed at all times on and off the green, so no handshakes, high fives etc! 

In conclusion and for those with health concerns: 

Please read the BOWLS ENGLAND COVID-19 SUPPLEMENTARY GUIDANCE FOR LAWN BOWLS CLUBS document issued on 14th May 2020 so that you can appreciate how these Adderbury Club rules have been formulated: they are on the ABC website. In particular if you are suffering any cold or flu-like symptoms don’t come to the green, see page 4 of the guidance document, and if you are over 70 or clinically vulnerable in some way, see page 5 of the guidance document. 


14th May 2020: Covid-19 – Supplementary Guidance for Lawn Bowls Clubs


Bowls Tour 2020




Rebooked for 2021
Same Hotel
Monday 13th September - Friday 16th September
Detailed information will be posted in due course.